Jepson eFlora: Filtered Keys using KeyBase

KeyBase is a dichotomous key platform hosted by Royal Botanical Gardens, Victoria, with an interface that allows one to easily navigate dichotomous keys and "filter" them with a checklist, removing key leads that do not pertain to any terminal taxa in the checklist.

The Jepson eFlora dichotomous keys are fully integrated into KeyBase, essentially making a regional flora available for any of the Jepson bioregions. Select the region in which you found your plant, and you will be taken to a simplified version of the eFlora keys in KeyBase. (e.g. Key to Plants of the Sierra Nevada, Key to Plants of the San Gabriel Mountains) Taxon names in KeyBase link back to Jepson eFlora taxon pages.

Get Started:

NOTE: The KeyBase taxon filters are based on Jepson eFlora author's assertions of taxon ranges. As we have discovered from comparing Consortium of California Herbaria (CCH) specimen records to eFlora authored ranges in the Yellow Flag project, there are many plant populations that occur outside the eFlora authored ranges. If a filtered key does not bring you to an answer that matches the plant you are identifying, try using a more relaxed filter (e.g. use the Sierra Nevada filter instead of the Central Sierra Nevada Foothills filter), or use the full key if necessary.

For feedback regarding KeyBase software, contact Niels Klazenga (
For feedback regarding how Jepson eFlora content is displayed in KeyBase, contact the Jepson Online Interchange (

CA-FP California Floristic Province

  NW Northwestern California
     NCo North Coast
     NCoR North Coast Ranges
        NCoRO Outer North Coast Ranges
        NCoRI Inner North Coast Ranges
        NCoRH High North Coast Ranges

  CaR Cascade Ranges
     CaRF Cascade Range Foothills
     CaRH High Cascade Ranges

  SN Sierra Nevada
     SNF Sierra Nevada Foothills
        nSNF northern Sierra Nevada Foothills
        cSNF central Sierra Nevada Foothills
        sSNF southern Sierra Nevada Foothills
     SNH High Sierra Nevada
        nSNH northern High Sierra Nevada
        cSNH central High Sierra Nevada
        sSNH sourthern High Sierra Nevada
     Teh Tehachapi Mountains Area

  GV Great Central Valley
       ScV Sacramento Valley
       SnJV San Joaquin Valley

  CW Central Western California
       SCoR South Coast Ranges
           SCoRO Outer South Coast Ranges
           SCoRI Inner South Coast Ranges
  SW Southwestern California
       SCo South Coast
       ChI Channel Islands
           nChI northern Channel Islands
           sChI southern Channel Islands
       PR Peninsular Ranges
           SnJt San Jacinto Mountains
           PR exc SnJt PR excluding SnJt
       TR Transverse Ranges
           WTR Western Transverse Ranges
           SnGb San Gabriel Mountains
           SnBr San Bernardino Mountains

GB Great Basin Province

  MP Modoc Plateau
      Wrn Warner Mountains
      MP exc Wrn MP excluding Wrn
  SNE East of Sierra Nevada
      W&I White and Inyo Mountains
      SNE exc W&I SNE excluding W&I

D Desert Province

  DMoj Mojave Desert
      DMtns Desert Mountains
      DMoj exc DMtns DMoj excluding DMtns
  DSon Sonoran Desert

The Jepson eFlora divides California into 35 ecologically distinct "bioregions" for the purpose of indicating where plant taxa grow. These divisions are grouped into regions, which are grouped into three main "provinces", as shown in the maps above.

Each terminal taxon treatment in the Jepson eFlora indicates the treatments in which the taxon is asserted to occur. Using this information, a checklist for any subregion, region or province can be made (see the eFlora Tools page for a tool that does exactly that).

For full descriptions of each bioregion, see Geographic Subdivisions of California