Jepson eFlora: KeyBase Region Species List Update Logs

NOTE: The KeyBase taxon filters are based on Jepson eFlora author's assertions of taxon ranges. As we have discovered from comparing Consortium of California Herbaria (CCH) specimen records to eFlora authored ranges in the Yellow Flag project, there are many plant populations that occur outside the eFlora authored ranges.

For feedback regarding how Jepson eFlora content is displayed in KeyBase, contact Jason Alexander (

Bioregion species list changes between 2015 and 2021
(click on any link on the list below to view the html list of changes)

CA-FP  California Floristic Province

  NW  Northwestern California Region
    NCo  North Coast Subregion
    NCoR  North Coast Ranges Subregion
      NCoRO  Outer North Coast Ranges District
      NCoRI  Inner North Coast Ranges District
      NCoRH  High North Coast Ranges District
    KR  Klamath Ranges Subregion

  CaR  Cascade Ranges Region
    CaRF  Cascade Range Foothills
    CaRH  High Cascade Ranges

  SN  Sierra Nevada Region
    SNF  Sierra Nevada Foothills Subregion
     nSNF  northern Sierra Nevada Foothills
     cSNF  central Sierra Nevada Foothills
     sSNF  southern Sierra Nevada Foothills
    SNH  High Sierra Nevada Subregion
     nSNH  northern High Sierra Nevada
     cSNH  central High Sierra Nevada
     sSNH  southern High Sierra Nevada
    Teh  Tehachapi Mountains Area

  GV  Great Central Valley Region
    ScV  Sacramento Valley
    SnJV  San Joaquin Valley

  CW  Central Western California Region
    CCo  Central Coast
    SnFrB  San Francisco Bay Area
    SCoR  South Coast Ranges Subregion
      SCoRO  Outer South Coast Ranges
      SCoRI  Inner South Coast Ranges

  SW  Southwestern California Region
    SCo  South Coast
    ChI  Channel Islands Subregion
      nChI  northern Channel Islands
      sChI  southern Channel Islands
    PR  Peninsular Ranges Subregion
      SnJt  San Jacinto Mountains
      PR exc SnJt  Peninsular Ranges excluding SnJt
    TR  Transverse Ranges Subregion
      WTR  Western Transverse Ranges
      SnGb  San Gabriel Mountains
      SnBr  San Bernardino Mountains

GB  Great Basin Province

  MP  Modoc Plateau Region
    Wrn  Warner Mountains Subregion
    MP exc Wrn  Modoc Plateau Subregion (excluding Warner Mtns)
  SNE  East of Sierra Nevada Region
    W&I  White and Inyo Mountains Subegion
    SNE exc W&I  East of Sierra Nevada Subegion (excluding White and Inyo Mtns)

D  Desert Province

  DMoj  Mojave Desert Region
    DMtns  Desert Mountains Subregion
    DMoj exc DMtns  Mojave Desert Subregion (excluding Desert Mtns)
  DSon  Sonoran Desert Region


The Jepson eFlora divides California into 35 ecologically distinct bioregions for the purpose of indicating where plant taxa grow. The smallest subdivision defined as a distinct bioregions, depends on how finely each region is ecologically divided. One bioregion, the Sonoran Desert, is at the finest scale at the region-level, and is not divided into subregions. The other nine regions are further divided into two or more subregions. Seven subregions are further divided into two or more districts. All regions are grouped into three main provinces, as shown in the maps above.

Each terminal taxon treatment in the Jepson eFlora indicates the treatments in which the taxon is asserted to occur. Using this information, a checklist for any subregion, region or province can be made (see the eFlora Tools page for a tool that does exactly that).

For full descriptions of each bioregion, see Geographic Subdivisions of California