Trustees of the Jepson Herbarium
Dr. Beth Burnside
Dr. Beth Burnside is Former Vice Chancellor for Research and Professor Emerita of Molecular and Cell Biology at UC Berkeley. She joined the faculty of the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology in 1977 and served as Dean of Biological Sciences from 1983 to 1990, during the extensive reorganization of the Biological Sciences at the Berkeley campus. Dr. Burnside has been appointed a Chancellor Professor at Berkeley and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has served on the Scientific Advisory Board and the National Advisory Eye Council of the National Eye Institute of the NIH as well as numerous other scientific advisory boards and committees. In addition, she has received two Distinguished Teaching Awards at Berkeley, a Merit Award from the National Eye Institute, and an Outstanding Alumnus Award from the Graduate School of the University of Texas, Austin. Her research interest is the cell biology of retinal photoreceptors. Her laboratory studies the roles of cytoskeletal motors in motile processes critical to photoreceptor development and survival. Her lab investigated the function of myosin 3A, a unique kinase- bearing myosin selectively expressed in photoreceptors. Since mutations of this myosin are known to cause retinal degeneration in fruitflies, her lab worked to ascertain whether defects in this gene lead to retinal degeneration in humans and to understand what role myosin3 plays in vertebrate photoreceptors.
Dr. Russell Jones
Dr. Russell Jones was born in Wales and completed his BSc and PhD at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. He spent one year as a postdoctoral fellow at the Michigan State University Plant Research Laboratory and was appointed Assistant Professor of Botany at Berkeley in 1966. He was a Guggenheim Fellow at the University of Nottingham, UK from 1972-73, a Miller Professor at Berkeley in 1976, a Humboldt Prize Winner at the University of Gottingen in 1986 and a RIKEN Eminent Scientist in RIKEN Japan in 1996. Jones was elected as Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has been awarded honorary degrees from Mendel University, Czech Republic and the University of Toulouse, France.
Dr. Brent D. Mishler
Dr. Brent D. Mishler is Director of the University and Jepson Herbaria at UC Berkeley, and Professor in the Department of Integrative Biology, where he teaches phylogenetic systematics, plant diversity, and island biology. A native southern Californian, he received Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1984, then was on the faculty at Duke University for nine years before moving to UC Berkeley in 1993. His research interests center on the systematics, evolution, and ecology of bryophytes, as well as the overall phylogeny of green plants and the theory of systematics, and he has published more than 160 scientific papers. He has served as President of American Bryological and Lichenological Society, is a Fellow of the California Academy of Sciences, and was named as Distinguished Alumnus of the Year for 2003, College of Science, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. He and his graduate students are currently involved in research projects on a broad front including systematic studies of mosses, ferns, and angiosperms, the ecology of reproduction and water stress, comparative genomics, and ethnobotany.
Dr. John W. Taylor
Dr. John W. Taylor is Curator of Mycological Collections of the University Herbarium, Professor of Plant and Microbial Biology, and Chair, Division of Microbiology, all at UC Berkeley. His research focuses on the evolution of fungi, including fungal phylogenetic relationships, the timing of deep fungal divergences, species recognition, speciation, species maintenance, selection, and accounting for genetic variation in genomic studies. Publications from his laboratory number more than 145. Taylor has served as President of the Mycological Society of America and as an associate editor or member of the editorial board of Mycologia, Mycological Research, Fungal Genetics and Biology and the Annual Review of Microbiology. He is a fellow of the California Academy of Science, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Microbiology.